Captivate Your Audience!

December 17, 2009

Hello Everyone!

I thought I’d do a brief post on the wonders of Captivate software by Adobe. It’s not a freebie, I’m afraid, (though they do offer a free trial period) but it’s a really terrific program for demonstrating how to do different computer-based things to an audience and it is especially suited for my purposes, when there are a lot of technicalities that need to be communicated to my online distance learners.

I have had Captivate installed for some time on my computer and I have used it before, but haven’t really UTILIZED it up until now in a really meaningful way. I put together this demonstration tutorial to show my students how to use an online graphing tool and then how to save the image of their graph, convert it to a JPEG and then insert it into a document that they would then submit to me for marks.

I tried a million ways from Sunday to upload this into YouTube and then realized that I can’t load a .swf file successfully onto YouTube so I tried about a billion and one different .swf to video conversion tools and struggled to find one that preserved the audio and everything else I needed for it. I finally did!! I went to Swf to Flv Converter and downloaded the freebie version of the software. There is a watermark on the video, but it’s not a big deal and I think I might one day buy the licensed version should I see the long term need for it.  Sigh.. so many technicalities and so few technically minded brains in my head! Anyway… I hope you enjoy the video and can see potential for using Captivate (or another similar software tool) for your own classroom needs.

Happy Holidays!

PS. As I view the show here the picture is fuzzy because it has been shrunk to fit the YouTube window. So it’s not ideal, but it’s better than nothing I guess! It is a lot clearer if you actually go to YouTube and watch the video there full screen.

4 Responses to “Captivate Your Audience!”

  1. Hi Michelle

    If you are using Adobe Captivate 4 you can export it as a .avi file and then upload that to YouTube. I plan on doing a blog post about that soon.

    Regards
    Brian
    http://assistivetek.blogspot.com

    • Michelle Clarke said

      Ohh!! Very good tip! It’s great to hear what some of the differences are between the versions. One doesn’t always get to find out these things beforehand. I’ll have to let the technology department at work know about this. Thanks again!

  2. Jay said

    Hi Michelle – good to “see” you again…

    I appreciate all the hoops you had to jump through to tame “Captivate”. I haven’t used it but I can see the possibilities. Learning new tools always requires some trial and error (and time to play).

    • Michelle Clarke said

      *Laughs* Thanks Jay! It really is a lot of fun and it does take some trial and error to use. This is one of those tools I’d love to attend a short seminar session on.. to watch someone who knows what s/he is doing so that I can pick up some time saving tips and tricks. If you hear of anything like that, shoot it my way!

      😉

Leave a Reply

